**Serbia** (Serbian *Srbija*) is located in southeastern Europe, on the Balkan Peninsula. Serbia's capital and the largest city is Belgrade (Serbian *Beograd*). With a population of 1.6 million, it is the country's administrative, economic and cultural centre.





The area of Serbia is 88,361 sq. km, approximately the size of South Carolina. Most of Serbia can be divided into three regions: Vojvodina, a large province in the north containing fertile plains drained by the Danube, Sava, and Tisa rivers, Šumadija, a hilly and heavily populated area in central Serbia: and Kosovo. mountainous province in the south. A fourth region, the straddles Sandžak, the southwestern border with Montenegro.